This Christmas, Homebaker Pooja Jain shares her favourite recipe & journey.

 

whatsapp-image-2016-12-16-at-21-24-26
Mompreneur – Pooja Jain

What happened when the bubbly, vivacious Pooja Jain had to quit her job to take care of her kids? Well, she turned her energies to spreading smiles.
Today, she runs a successful venture under the name, Narayani Baking and Culinary at Goregaon, Mumbai.
I had an opportunity to interact with this mompreneur on her dream venture. Read on to know more about how this firebrand not only pursues her passion but also lends her skills to others.

#iRecommend Pooja Jain’s Narayani Baking and Culinary to anyone who wishes to learn cooking/baking or wants to buy a nutritious home-baked cake for a celebration.

Tell me something about your career journey
I started my career at the age of 19 by giving tuitions, from there I entered the field of sales with prestigious publication houses. After that, I turned an insurance advisor. At the age of 29, I entered motherhood with my elder son, Shivansh. Here is when I had to take a crucial decision. My husband, Amitkant, has a very demanding job that requires him to travel a lot. I decided to quit my job and take care of my little one. When he was 2.5 years old, I started teaching at a school. I loved my independence and this job allowed me to balance home and work. Life to a turn when my second child was born….

What happened…
With two kids, it became extremely difficult to manage my job and kids. Especially since my elder son was uncomfortable in a day-care. Life in Mumbai is always dotted with challenges. I quit my job completely and was at the crossroads of my career once again.

How did you turn to baking and cooking?
My elder son is a big time foodie. However, he prefers everything to be homemade, hence, I decided to learn professional baking for his sake. I used to take my younger son along with me to the classes.

Did your children influence your baking style?
Of course they did! Everything that I learnt was for them. We are Jains and thus perfecting the art of professional baking was a challenge. I kept practising till they gave me a thumbs up. When I started getting a lot of positive reviews from them, I decided to teach baking professionally. That is how I started making biscuits, bread and cakes at home.

So your kids kept you on your toes …
As I mentioned, my elder son is a foodie and this quality got transferred in my younger one as well. I went on to learn various cuisines like Mexican, Italian, Punjabi, Chinese, sizzlers, Icecreams, mocktails, salad, soups etc.

What keeps you going?
The praise that I receive from my family, neighbours, friends and students encourages me. When I see a smile on their face, it gives me a sense of satisfaction. I tell myself: ‘today, I have fulfilled the purpose for my existence.’

Tell me something about the recipe you are sharing with the readers.
Narayani baking and culinary classes

This recipe is extremely close to my heart. My son wanted me to make something that would resemble a construction site. He loves to play imaginative games with his little brother, Lakshya before they attack the cake.

 

Recipe, please!!

Eggless Chocolate Cake Recipe
Ingredients:
For the plain sponge cake:
100 ml milk
80 gm granulated sugar
100 gm maida
30 gm milk powder
1/2tsp baking powder
1/2tsp soda
30 ml oil
1 tbsp lemon juice
1tsp vanilla essence

Procedure:
Preheat oven @180°c
Grease n line cake tin
Sieve dry ingredients
Mix milk & sugar till sugar dissolves
Add essence
Now add dry ingredients gradually mixing ie add little by little
Add oil and mix
Add lemon n mix
Transfer to tin and bake @160°c for 1 hour or until skewer comes out clean
Flip the cake on the rack, remove the lining paper and allow it to cool completely before using it with any other filling and frosting.
You can also wrap it up in cling wrap and refrigerate to use it later.

 

Readers can choose to buy an ordinary sponge cake from the market if they wish.

Here is how the cake gets transformed into a construction site. For simplicity’s sake, the pictures are minimal and self-explanatory.

Pic 1: Crumb coating on cake with mousse filling
Pic 2: Entire cake covered with mousse and ready for decoration
Pic 3: Shaping the cake and covering it with truffle
Pic 4: I used my children’s toys to complete the look. Here is the final cake. It doesn’t look that neat…but that is how construction sites are…

 

whatsapp-image-2016-12-16-at-19-56-30
A newbie baker must try this so that even if things go haywire, one can hide behind the fact that it is a construction site.

Do you have any questions regarding the recipe? You can get in touch with Pooja Jain on: +91 7208076652 or visit her Facebook page.

 

Is there something you wish to share? Did Pooja inspire you to begin baking? Do let me know in the comment section.

– As told to Mayura Amarkant

Do let me know whether you liked the recipe. Add a comment, like and share the post – show some love! Looking forward to your reactions!

Here are some more posts you can check out under the iReccomend Series:

  1. Yummiest Gifting Option!
  2. This Christmas, Homebaker Pooja Jain shares her favourite recipe & journey.

  3. ‘Spiritual Detox’ before New Year with Chakra Healer – Kareena Punjabi

  4. Self-confessed foodie, Niti Madan shares her favourite Christmas recipe

  5. Make Christmas Goodies with your child says TANVI SRIVASTAVA SETHI

  6. Easy Tutty-Fruity cake for Christmas by BAKE BY MOMZ’s Sarika Shahu

  7. Delicious Marathi twist to Christmas with Home Chef Sonal S. Jambekar

 

6 comments

Did you like what you read? Do like, share and comment. You can also mail me on mayura.amarkant@gmail.com

