My Shadow…Have you seen it anywhere?

Have you seen it anywhere?
Maybe you saw it on your way…
My silhouette, my shadow
It is missing …
Vanished without a trail…

Where can I find the decamper?
Has it gone hiking in the valleys
Or trekking in the hilly terrains
Arm in arm when we were afoot
It quietly slipped away…
Big Red Tent Vasind

Who is this who walks with me?
Follows every move
A fearsome contour that resembles me
A hazy silhouette,
It threatens my sanity…

I want my shadow back
It was mine, a part of me
Have you seen it anywhere?
Maybe you saw it on your way…
My silhouette, my comrade…

– Penned by Mayura Amarkant

Add a comment, like and share the post – show some love! Looking forward to your reactions! 

I am giving my blog a boost with the Ultimate Blog Challenge – January 2017 edition.

Photographer: Mayura Amarkant
Model: Bhavisha Bhagtani
Location: Big Red Tent, Vasind (Maharashtra)


This is my eleventh post in the #Stories&Poems category. Here are the others:

  1. From this world to the next, a transition in waiting
  2. The Power of Prayer
  3. The day I died…
  4. The long wait…is this your story?
  5. Chapter Extract: How was Anju raped?
  6. The Security Guard
  7. Even Change Changes
  8. Her first kiss
  9. Short Story: What if…

  10. Sawal hi galat ho to koi jawab kaise dega – Vibhuti Duggar Mutha

15 comments

  1. Lovely poem. It too reminded me of Peter Pan. In case you didn’t know, he was a boy who never grew up and liked to fly. He flew into Wendy’s room chasing after his shadow and asked Wendy to sew it back on to him.

    I, like an other commentator, never think about my shadow but I was fascinated by it when I was a kid.

    Like

Did you like what you read? Do like, share and comment. You can also mail me on mayura.amarkant@gmail.com

