“Story-telling is my life breath” Karaan Guliani director, Sarvann

One look at the trailer of Sarvann and you will know why it crossed 1.6M views on YouTube. (scroll down to view it)
It is easily the most awaited film this year. In an exclusive Chai pe Charcha with KARAAN GULIANI, he revealed details about his directorial debut, Sarvann and his life. Read on to know more about this man who found his calling through this mega production.

No filmy background. A regular middle-class upbringing. What made you turn towards films?
I come from a service middle-class family. My needs have always remained minimal. However, my desire for telling stories is like breathing for me. I guess my father gave me this craft while singing lullabies to me. He would say, visualise this. I still remember visualising ‘yeh kahani hai diye ki aur toofan ki – I remain mesmerised till date.

When was the first time you tasted stardom?
I was in grade 6 and the drama teacher heard me reciting an essay in class. He called for me. I nervously entered his room, wondering what I had done. To my surprise, he asked me if I was interested in acting in a play since he believed that I was a good actor. That year we won the state-level theatre festival.

We all know that a career in the film industry is dotted with struggles. What kept you going?
I am driven by passion…the passion to tell stories… I consistently wove stories and narrated them at every opportunity that I got. 

Tell us more about Sarvann
After several years of directing music videos, TV shows and other assignments, I was discovered by the world of films. I am fortunate to be associated with Purple Pebble Pictures’ first Punjabi film. It has been produced in association with Pooja Entertainment. Starring Punjabi star, Amrinder Gill, Ranjit Bawa, Simi Chahal, the film is produced by  Dr. Madhu Chopra, Priyanka Chopra and Deepshika Deshmukh. It’s a Vashu Bhagnani release that is set to hit the screens in December 2016. It is a beautiful story that will surely touch the hearts of my audiences. Rab Rakkha!

12987029_10154142509621934_5572666403336391486_n
With Priyanka Chopra and Team Sarvann

How different are you in your professional life from your personal life?
My personal and professional lives are two parallel lines. E.g. in my professional life, I am very selfish while shooting. At that moment, my shot is the most important thing in life. I do everything to ensure that I get the perfect shot. However, in my personal life, I am a giver. I am ready to give or do anything to ensure that my family smiles and stays happy.

What is the best time of the day?
Anytime of the day (or night) when I am asked to narrate a story.

Who is your role model?
My dad. He is the most honest person that I know. He remains honest to his work, everyone and himself. He is focused and a hard worker.  I am gifted with these qualities through him.

Do you believe in God? What is your relationship with God?
Yes, I love God, for me, God is like my parent or a friend. Might sound funny but I talk to God all the time – I tell him everything.

What is the role your spouse has played in your career journey?
Marriage has made me content, thanks to God, I am married to a beautiful soul, who is equally passionate and in love with her work, she is my biggest critic.

15181251_10154697481632154_2768823301178749335_n
With his soulmate, Gayatri Guliani

15094390_10154749734756934_8331710994458966254_nWhat is the mantra of your life?
Spread love and happiness.

– As told to Mayura Amarkant

Click here to view the trailer of Sarvann. Let me know your thoughts. Don’t forget to like & share the post if it touched your heart. Leave a comment for Karaan in the comments section, he would love to read them.

This is the 14th interview in the #StayInspired series. Here are the rest:

  1. #StayInspired – 1: Dreams keep people alive
  2. #StayInspired: Marriage is a warm & intimate cocoon
  3. #StayInspired: Born today, 4 Inspiring people
  4. #StayInspired: When I was 13, my grandma wanted to marry me off
  5. #StayInspired: God rejected my death
  6. #StayInspired: Meet the Dhoni of Indian Corp Comm & PR
  7. #StayInspired: He is the original TaxiMan of India.
  8. #StayInspired: The ‘Vamana’ of Alternative Medicine
  9. #StayInspired: Making Indian education ‘student-friendly’: Meet the new-age Lord Macaulay
  10. #StayInspired: Meet the travel industry’s ‘Y factor’ – YusuF Poonawala

  11. #StayInspired: Crafting the Entertainment Industry – The Sonia Parasnis Way

  12. #StayInspired: Ram Kamal Mukherjee – Beyond Bollywood and Biographies.
  13. #StayInspired: Mumbai’s silent Sculptor: Shishir Joshi

 

 

 

 

7 comments

  1. It’s heartwarming to see people heart falling in the right place and doing such creatively good work. Film-making is more about passion and money. It touches the heart to see how someone from a service middle-class background is touching the sky. Sometimes, a belief stokes the fire. Keep doing the great work and kudos to you, Mayura.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.